Two PDP MPs removed from Rajya Sabha for ‘tearing’ copy of Constitution

wilayattimes (India)

New Delhi:Registering their protest against the scrapping of Article 370, PDP MPs Mir Fayaz and Nazir Ahmed Laway on Monday tore up the Constitution in the Rajya Sabha, leading to their ouster from the House.

Rajya Sabha chairman Venkaiah Naidu Monday removed two PDP MPs Monday after they attempted to tear the Constitution. Union Home Minister Amit Shah Monday announced that the government has scrapped the special status granted to the state of Jammu and Kashmir by modifying Article 370 of the Constitution.

The announcement made by home minister and BJP chief Amit Shah led to massive uproar in the House by opposition parties.

After days of speculation following deployment of troops in Kashmir, cancelling of the Amarnath Yatra, evacuation of tourists and finally placing state leaders under house arrest, the government finally made the announcement. It also clarified Ladakh and Jammu and Kashmir will now be Union Territories.

The government of India left no stone unturned to not only make sure that the promise becomes reality, but also curtail any possible instance of violence, following the announcement.

From internet services to landlines, communication links were snapped in the Valley, prior to the big announcement. Even possible protests by state leaders, that could instigate the masses, were curtailed as prominent local politicians like Mehbooba Mufti and Omar Abdullah were put under house arrest.

Scrapping Article 370 of the Constitution has been one of the pet issues for the BJP, repeated in all its election manifestos.

However, while the government is being lauded for revoking special status from Jammu and Kashmir, there are several who are against the decision and criticise the move.