JK Police bags maximum number of gallantry Honours

wilayattimes (Jammu and Kashmir)

Jammu:Director General of Jammu and Kashmir Police Dilbag Singh  congratulated the force for receiving the maximum of 126 police medals on the eve of the 71st Republic Day and said it shows their exemplary courage and dedication in the service of the nation.

The tally for the union territory police, thickly involved in counter-terrorist operations in the Kashmir Valley, includes 108 gallantry awards, 16 Police Medal for Meritorious Service and two President”s Police Medal for Distinguished Service.

Congratulating the awardees and their families, the DGP in his message said “the awards show the exemplary courage and dedication shown by police personnel in the service of the nation”.

He wished them more success and recognition in future.

“During past one year, 157 terrorists, including foreigners, were neutralised. Various terror networks were smashed and Overgroud Workers arrested. Police, along with other security forces, was on forefront stabilizing the situation particularly in south Kashmir,” the DGP said.

He said in recognition of the dedication and hard work shown by the officers and personnel in maintenance of law and order, the Union Home Ministry bestowed these honours on the J&K Police.

The President”s Police Medal for Distinguished Service have been awarded to Additional Director General of Police, Railway, Deepak Kumar, Inspector General of Police and Director General Prosecution, J&K, Syed Ahfadul Mujtaba.

SSPs Mohammad Haseeb Mughal, Nisha Nathyal, Javid Iqbal Mattoo, Mohan Lal Bhagat, Shoket Hussain Shah and SP Yougal Kumar Manhas are among the President”s Police Medal for Meritorious Service awardees.

Meritorious Service of Mohan Lal Bhagat 

Shri Mohan Lal,(JKPS -99),SSP Assistant Director (Outdoor) Sher-i-Kashmir Police Academy has been awarded Police Medal for Meritorious Services on the occasion of Republic Day 2020 on account of his 20 years meritorious, exemplary, dedicated and unblemished services rendered in the police department.

The officer was appointed in J&K Police as Dy.SP in the year 1999 after qualifying the State Public Service Exam and completed his Basic Training successfully from SKPA Udhampur and Probationer period from District Rajouri. The officer while his services as territorial officer in various militancy affected areas has bravely and successfully carried out number of counter insurgency operations in the J&K.

The officers during his service in the J&K Police department has served in various capacities viz. Dy.SP(Ops) Pattan Baramulla, Dy.Commandant IR-3rd Bn, ASP(Ops) Doda, Addl.SP Rural Jammu,SP (Operation) Doda, SP Katra, District SSP Kathua, SSP Traffic City Jammu, Commandant IRP 10th Bn, District SSP Ramban, Commandant JKAP 7th Bn. and at present the officer is serving as Asstt. Director (Outdoor) SKPA Udhampur. The officer has been entrusted with the responsibility of imparting outdoor training to the ongoing batch of about 600 probationer Sub Inspectors and Probationer Dy. Superintendents of police. The officer is also effectively handing various administrative affairs and also supervising the specialized training courses being conducted in the Academy.
Director Police Academy Udhampur Dr. S.D. Singh Jamwal, IPS IGP/Director SKPA Udhampur also conveyed his congratulations to Shri Mohan Lal for this achievement in his service.

t is one of the highest tally of gallantry medals won by a police force in recent times.

These police bravery awards are declared bi-annually on the eve of Republic Day and Independence Day.
Those, who bagged President’s Police Medal for Gallantry (PPMG) are SSP Abdul Jabbar, DySP Ghulam Hassan Sheikh and Constable Asif Iqbal Qureshi.

The recipients of Police Medal for Gallantry are SSP Ghulam Jeelani Wani, SSP Harmeet Singh (3rd & 4th Bar to PMG), SSP Mohammad Aslam, SSP Sheikh Zulfkar Azad, SSP Mohammad Zaid, SP Shriram Dinkar Ambarkar (PMG, 1st & 2nd Bar to PMG), SP Ajaz Ahmed Zarger, Additional SP Shafkat Hussain, Additional SP Ajaz Ahmed Zarger, Additional SP Arif Amin Shah, Additional SP Chandan Kohli, Additional SP Ifroz Ahmad, Additional SP Mohammad Majid Malik, Additional SP Naresh Sharma, DySP Sarfaraz Bashir Ganai, DySP Mashkoor Ahmad, DySP Nissar Ahmad Darzi, DySP Syed Majeed Mosavi, DySP Sayed Zaheer Abbas Jafari, DySP Aman Kumar, DySP Faraz Hussain Shah, DySP Rashid Akber Makayee, DySP Shafat Mohammad Najar, DySP Mohammad Aslam, DySP Ashiq Hussain Tak, DySP Hilal Khaliq Bhat, DySP Dr Aejaz Amjed Malik, DySP Mohammad Nawaz Khandey, DySP Ghulam Hassan Sheikh, DySP Raiz Ahmed, DySP Tahir Amin Sheikh, DySP Zafar Mahdi, DySP Ashiq Hussain Tak, DySP Imtiyaz Ahmed Mir, DySP Sayed Zaheer Abbas Jafari, DySP Vivek Shekhar, DySP Mohan Lal, DySP Dr Ruhail Mircha, DySP Raja Majid Batt and others.

The President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service awardees are Deepak Kumar, ADGP GRP Jammu and Syed Ahfadul Mujtaba, IGP Director Prosecution Jammu.

The recipients of Police Medal for Meritorious Service are SSP Srinagar Mohammad Haseeb Mughal, SSP CO SDRF 2nd Battalion Jammu Nisha Nathyal, SSP ACB Jammu Javid Iqbal Mattoo, SSP CID SB Kour Srinagar Shoket Hussain Shah, SSP Rajouri Yougal Manhas, DySP SDPO Awantipora Rashid Akbar Makayee, Inspector SO PHQ Jammu Syed Afaq Ahmad, Inspector SPS PTS Kathua Sanjeev Kumar, Inspector Channi Himmat Police Station Sajad Parvez, Inspector PC Kishtwar Dilraj Singh Dilbar, Inspector (C) CID CI Jammu Vinod Kumar, SI (S) PA to ADGP Armed J&K Abdul Rashid Dar, ASI Kathua Randhir Singh, ASI DPO Reasi Ram Prakash and HC (M) DPO Srinagar Shokat Hussain Ahanger.